Vegetarian Lasagna

This overdue blog post comes in time for Meatless Monday, and is one of my favourite vegetarian recipes. First introduced to me by my good friend NK, I love that it can easily be tweaked according to whatever your favourite vegetables are. I’m sharing my recipe (inspired by one I found in Delicious Magazine), but feel free to adjust it according to your tastes, and let me know in the comments section (below) about your own version!

Vegetarian Lasagna

If NK had a blog and wrote this post, it would go something like this: Chuck in veg. Make sauce. Add sauce. Bake. Eat! :-)

To me, even my post is written a little haphazardly this time! For one, I’ve been really lazy with the photos and taken them with my phone. My camera is tucked away upstairs and my 8 month pregnant legs just can’t be bothered to go get it, or even do more than point-and-shoot right now!

But this recipe needed to be shared so here we are:

Ingredients:

1 large (or 2 small) aubergines (eggplant to my North American friends)
2 courgettes (zucchini)
2 peppers, 1 red 1 yellow (or whatever combination you like)
1 medium-sized onion
3-4 closed cup mushrooms
1 large (or 2 small) tomatoes
4 tbsp olive oil
1 level tablespoon minced garlic
1 tsp salt (or to taste)
1/2 tsp black pepper

2tbsp finely grated Parmesan cheese
Buffalo Mozzarella cheese, approximately 200g
A handful of fresh herb leaves, such as oregano and basil
Fresh egg pasta lasagna sheets (such as these)

For the white sauce:

3 tbsp butter
3 tbsp plain flour
900ml milk
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees Celsius (approx. 390 Fahrenheit).

Cut all your vegetables into bite-size chunks and place in a large mixing bowl. Separately, mix together the olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper and pour over the vegetables. Mix everything together well, and transfer to a baking tray.

Vegetables to be roasted

Roast these in your hot oven for about 30 minutes. I like to give everything a stir every 10-15 minutes, just to make sure nothing is sticking to the tray. You’ll know the vegetables are done when they are all soft and just beginning to char.

Remove from the oven, set aside and make your white sauce. Melt the butter and add the flour, stirring with a whisk for a minute or so. Then gradually add the milk, bit by bit, continuously stirring as you do so. Once all the milk has been added, keep stirring and cooking on medium-low heat, till the sauce has slightly thickened (there are some tips on making white sauce in my Chicken Pot Pie post. As this can take some practice, if this is your first time, have a look at this guide as well).

White sauce

Cook the lasagna sheets according to the instructions on the packet. How many you need will depend on their size (I used about 6 altogether).

To layer the lasagna:

Step 1: put a few spoonfuls of white sauce at the bottom of your dish. Cover with lasagna sheets. Add half of the vegetables.

Step 2: top with half of the white sauce, and sprinkle over 1 tbsp of the Parmesan.  Then cover with another set of lasagna sheets.

Step 3: top with the remaining vegetables, the remaining white sauce and the remaining Parmesan. Now tear over the Mozzarella, and sprinkle the fresh herbs, if using. If you want, you can pour over 1-2 tbsp of olive oil at this stage too.

Lower the oven temperature to 180 degrees, and bake the lasagna covered with foil initially for about 30 minutes. Then, uncover and bake for a further 20 minutes, or until the cheese begins to brown.

Vegetarian Lasagna

5 responses to “Vegetarian Lasagna

  1. Spot on about NK lasagne looks good I’m gonna try it one day!

  2. soooo basically cook veg chuck sauce chuck veg and bake…..mmmm tastes so good!

  3. This looks really good, I’m bookmarking it!

  4. This is very tempting to try … although my kids do not like lasagna I can choose whatever veg. they like … Thanks for sharing Habiba

Leave a Reply

