Summer in a Salad

I’m so glad that the first salad recipe on my blog will be this one. This is definitely one of my favourite salads! It goes perfectly with grilled/BBQ food, and is even tastier on its own for a light lunch. The combination of flavours and textures is really nice, from the softness and sweetness of the mangoes, to the crunchy and rich tasting cashew nuts. And who knew ginger and mango go so well together?!

Fresh, fruity, summery mango salad!

Fresh, fruity, summery mango salad!

The only downside is that the best mangoes are only available in the summer, so you literally have a couple of months to enjoy this salad at its best. My recipe is inspired by Anjum Anand’s grilled paneer and mango salad, but with a number of ingredients purposely omitted and measurements changed, simply because I wanted as much of the mango to come through as possible.

Having lived in Pakistan for a few years now, I’ve become well-acquainted with the different types of mangoes available there… from the Sindhi mangoes to the “langrahs” and the tiny “chaunsas”. The names don’t matter so much; if it’s a Pakistani mango, you can be sure it’s going to taste good (side note: mangoes are the national fruit of Pakistan. Does England have a national fruit?! Must Google that!)

Check out the links at the end for a few other recipes with mangoes in them from some of the blogs I like :-)

Ingredients:

2 mangoes (if you can find Pakistani mangoes, go for those. You won’t regret it)
1/4 of an onion, very thinly sliced
Generous handful of baby spinach leaves, washed
Handful of cashew nuts, toasted 

For the dressing:
3 tbsp lemon juice
3 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp caster sugar
1/2 tsp salt (or to taste)
Small piece of fresh ginger, approximately 1 inch long

To make the dressing, whizz everything together in a small blender until completely combined, or is as they say “emulsified” (see photo below):

Salad dressing

Next, peel and dice your mangoes into small cubes. Place in a bowl. Add the onion slices and spinach leaves (I like to tear some of the big ones up, but you don’t have to).

If you’re toasting the cashew nuts yourself, simply grab a small pan and throw them in and toast on a low heat till they colour (it won’t take long). Then let them cool before adding to the salad.

Finally, stir in the dressing and serve (best to leave this step till right before eating).

Mango salad

Other delish mango recipes:

Sparkling Mango Lemonade by Lawyer Loves Lunch
Saffron Mango Icecream by Slice of My Life

Mango Mousse by Fauzia’s Kitchen Fun

12 responses to “Summer in a Salad

  1. This mango salad looks so refreshing! Would love to try it out.

  2. Beautiful summery salad. Would love to try this out
    Thanks so much for linking back to my blog!

  3. Salad looks very refreshing. I love mixing fruit with salad, good combo!

    thanks for stopping by my blog too :-)

  4. How interesting that you live in Pakistan! My friend is from Palestine and taught me the word ‘habibi’, is that related to your name any way?

    This salad looks delicious, although I’m not the biggest fan of mixing my sweet with my salty. I will have to show this to my boyfriend!

  5. This looks fabulous! I discovered mangoes in salads a few years ago and I’ve been hooked since! I would love to give this a shot :)

  6. I love Mangoes with spicy / salty ingredients and I absolutely love cashews. Will give this a try at my next BBQ!

Leave a Reply

